Saturday 13 February 2016

How to Manufacture IFSC Code of Banks from Account Numbers

The IFSC is an 11-character code with the first four alphabetic characters representing the bank name, and the last six characters (usually numeric, but can be alphabetic) representing the branch. The fifth character is 0 (zero) and reserved for future use. Bank IFS Code is used by the NEFT & RTGS systems to route the messages to the destination banks/branches. The format of the IFS Code is shown below:


For example IFSC Code of Punjab National Bank, KSM Road, Rajpura Township - 140401 (Punjab) is PUNB0354100 to be read as PUNB ZERO THREE FIVE FOUR ONE ZERO ZERO. Now as explained above the first four characters are Bank Code for Particular Bank and 5th character is necessarily 0 (Zero). Last six characters are the branch code. Bank Code for PNB being PUNB has been picked up and after placing 5th character as 0 (Zero) the branch code of Rajpura Town - which is 354100 has been placed as it is. One more thing to remember while manufacturing the IFSC code of any bank is that in case of most of the Banks, the branch code is hidden in the account number. For example in PNB the account number consists of 16 characters in which first six characters are the branch code, next 2 characters are the scheme code and the last 8 characters are account number. In case the account number is of less than 8 characters then it can be made of 8 characters by prefixing more zeroes. To quote the account number 35410021000XXXXX consists of 354100 as branch code, 21 as scheme code for current accounts and last XXXXX digits being account number prefixed with three zeroes.


Bank Codes for manufacturing IFSC Codes of banks.
  1. Allahabad Bank ALLA
  2. Andhra Bank          ANDB
  3. Axis Bank          UTIB
  4. Bank of Baroda BARB
  5. Bank of India          BKID
  6. Bank Of Maharashtra MAHB
  7. Canara Bank         CNRB
  8. Central Bank of India CBIN
  9. Corporation Bank CORP
  10. Dena Bank          BKDN
  11. HDFC Bank                   HDFC
  12. ICICI Bank                   ICIC
  13. IDBI Bank                   IBKL
  14. IDFC Bank Limited          IDFB
  15. Indian Bank                   IDIB
  16. Indian Overseas Bank IOBA
  17. IndusInd Bank Ltd.          INDB
  18. Kotak Mahindra Bank KKBK
  19. Oriental Bank of Commerce ORBC
  20. Punjab National Bank PUNB
  21. Punjab & Sind Bank PSIB
  22. State Bank Of Bikaner And Jaipur SBBJ
  23. State Bank of Hyderabad SBHY
  24. State Bank of India          SBIN
  25. State Bank of Mysore SBMY
  26. State Bank Of Patiala STBP
  27. State Bank Of Travancore SBTR
  28. State Bank of Saurashtra SSAU
  29. Syndicate Bank          SYNB
  30. UCO Bank                   UCBA
  31. Union Bank of India          UBIN
  32. United Bank of India UTBI
  33. Vijaya Bank                   VIJB
  34. Yes Bank                           YESB

While making any IMPS, NEFT or RTGS the transferor  must test the IFSC code through above two litmus tests so that the transferred funds do not go astray or land into wrong bank accounts.

No comments:

Post a Comment

We have extended our working hours                                Monday to Friday                      9.00 A.M.       to       6.0...